Labor Day marks a special time of year for many people. Having grown up in Guthrie Center, I have always associated Labor Day with the Guthrie County Fair. Each September, I look back and fondly remember time spent with my grandparents. Grandpa was in the American Legion and always worked a shift at the Legion bingo stand. Grandma would take us to the fair on Thursday nights and we would play bingo while Grandpa volunteered.

I don’t remember how much the cards cost but know Grandma brought a purse full of dimes, nickels and quarters with her for the evening. I remember winning once and selecting a blanket Grandpa said came from Mexico. I thought it looked similar to a Mexican poncho and felt very cultured to have an exotic textile from a foreign country.

I find it remarkable that some of my best childhood memories come from the simplest experiences. I understand now that this was a very modest evening on the town but it taught me an important lesson which I have never forgotten: The joy of the event is defined less by your surroundings and more by the quality of your company.

As your general manager, I often talk about the beauty of the lake and the elegance of the golf course. In the end, I must admit that I believe our greatest asset is neither the lake nor the golf course – I believe our greatest asset is the character of our community. As you enjoy the last holiday weekend of the summer, I encourage you to appreciate the quality of your company as much as you do the comfort of your surroundings. I think you’ll find them both to be beyond compare.

As we begin the month of September, our crew is busy planning their final push before winter inevitably sets in. We have about ten good weeks ahead of us and expect to complete a healthy list of projects that remains for 2011.

Among the highlights of our 2011 list is final completion of the water plant. I am pleased to announce the LPA will host an open house at our water plant on Thursday, September 29 from 2:00 to 6:30. We hope you can join us and look forward to showing you how this important investment will serve the LPA membership for decades to come.

The water plant is located near the LP West Golf Course, and is very easy to find. Here are some directions for those of you who aren’t familiar with our location.

  • Drive west out of Panora on HWY 44.
  • Turn north on Redwood and drive two miles.
  • We’re on the left (west). You can’t miss us – we’re the place with the big blue water tower.

Best wishes as you enjoy the Labor Day weekend! As always, please give me a call at the office if you have any concerns or questions about LPA.

Take care,

John

Labor Day is a glorious holiday because your child will be going back to school the next day. It would have been called Independence Day, but that name was already taken. — Bill Dodds

